The Thiess International Riverprize, Australian Riverprize and IRF European Riverprize


March 29, 2013




International RiverFoundation


Stage One Applications Close March 29, 2013

The Thiess International Riverprize, Australian Riverprize and IRF European Riverprize are awarded for excellence in river management, and are the world’s most prestigious environmental prizes. Since 1999, International RiverFoundation has awarded over AU$3 million in Riverprize awards.

In 2013, all Riverprize winners will each receive a trophy and a cash prize. A winning grant will be made available to the winners to enable their knowledge and expertise to be shared where it is needed with another river basin anywhere in the world.

The Thiess International Riverprize was initially funded by Thiess Pty Ltd, and is now funded by the RiverFoundation. In 2013, the Australian Riverprize is funded by the Australian Government's Water for the Future initiative, through the Water Smart Australia program.

The Application Process

Register your details for Riverprize, and you will then be sent a unique link via email that will provide you with secure access to your application. You will be able to send this link to multiple people should you wish to do so. Access to your application is only available via this link.

Read and sign the Terms and Conditions, noting your responsibilities if you become a finalist or winner, complete the Stage 1 Riverprize Application Form and submit online by 29 March 2013.

Shortlisted applications will be notified by mid April and given access to the online Stage 2 Riverprize Application to complete. Shortlisted applicants will be asked to complete the Stage 2 Riverprize Application by 31 May 2013. Stage 2 also requires supporting documentation to be provided via the online portal - there will be a section allowing you to upload materials with your submission.

Click here for Riverprize Resources including Application Guidelines for each prize, FAQs and Terms and Conditions.

The Judging Process

The Stage 1 Riverprize Application allows for a fast and efficient method to determine if your program meets the criteria and will be competitive in the Riverprize process.

The shortlisted applicants will be provided access to the Stage 2 Riverprize Application via the online portal and the judging panel will select the finalists.

All entrants will be advised if they qualify as a finalist by early July 2013. After assessing the Stage 1 and 2 applications, along with the supporting material, the winners of the Thiess International Riverprize and the Australian Riverprize will be identified and announced during the 16th International Riversymposium, to be held in Brisbane, Australia (September 2013). The winner of the IRF European Riverprize will be announced at the 5th European River Restoration Conference in Vienna, Austria (11-13 September, 2013).

Get Started Today!