Donate | Join | Print Page | Sign In
Seed-based webinar follow-up #3 What suggestions do you have for convinc...
Thread Score:
Page 1 of 1
Thread Actions

5/4/2017 at 8:32:23 AM GMT
Seed-based webinar follow-up #3 What suggestions do you have for convinc...

Seed-based webinar follow-up #3

What suggestions do you have for convincing grape growers to adopt restorative methods? I did my masters thesis on native bunch grasses in vineyards as a cover crop in arid eastern Washington. Growers have many reasons for a cover crop, one main one is dust reduction, ability to mow, and water conservation. I used seed from a local business specializing in using local genetically appropriate seed. I used a direct seeder and sowed in December and had  great germination success. I am now looking for vineyards to do a larger trial.

Directed to: Stephanie (and others)

5/5/2017 at 7:59:17 AM GMT

Farming with cover crops takes its own skill set and to be successful, farmers need to understand that the timeframe to see and make change is slower than with agrochemical or industrial farming practices. Farmers also need to have the expectation that they’ll be on a learning curve as they develop the skills and equipment to farm with cover crops. Trial or model farms can be really valuable to demonstrate to newcomers the benefits and challenges of using cover crops. Identify and collaborate with one or a few interested/motivated farmers to use parts of their farm for your trials and research.